New to vegas, but do all the "V8 headers" look this bad?

Anything H-body related, but please use one of the topic-specific forums below if appropriate

Moderator: Moderators

New to vegas, but do all the "V8 headers" look this bad?

Postby paranoid56 » Fri Oct 25, 2013 4:57 pm

So i am new to vegas and just got in the mail a set of Don Hardy headers and V8 swap parts. for 400 bucks for the headers these seem like the worst headers i have seen :lol: I have seen better headers come out of china this this crap. looks like a drunk monkey welded these up.
raw steel, crush tube bending bla bla.
is this normal for these swap kits? guessing i should just ceramic paint them and wrap them in header wrap
paranoid56

Re: New to vegas, but do all the "V8 headers" look this bad?

Postby monzaaddict » Fri Oct 25, 2013 5:33 pm

They don't look that bad to me. They have been made like that since the early 70's. There is such a limited market we should be glad anyone is still making headers for these cars. 400 for a set of made in America headers isn't that bad. Admittedly if there was a bigger market someone could copy these and mass produce them in China and they would likely be better quality with computer controlled machines making the bends and doing the welding.

I would test fit them to make sure they fit properly as there was a problem with a batch a few years ago with the no. 1 pipe not fitting properly and/or clearing the steering. jet hot or ceramic coat the headers. If your engine needs to be broken in do it before installing coated headers as the additional heat will cause the coating to peel. I wouldn't use header wrap - it holds in to much heat and moisture.
monzaaddict

Postby paranoid56 » Fri Oct 25, 2013 6:18 pm