Common sense help needed for non fabricator

Moderator: Moderators

Common sense help needed for non fabricator

Postby BBM66 » Mon Jun 04, 2012 10:23 pm

Greetings,
I'm just a shade tree mechanic trying to build a nice streetable 73 Vega. So far, things have been going pretty well. I am currently working with the rear end, ladder bars and frame connectors that i acquired.... I have spent the past couple of evening reading differing opinion about how to go about setting up rear ends and several questions have come to mind that I couldn't find answers for, so I'm reaching out to you guys for help. This is a Ford 8" with all stock Vega spring and shock mounts.

I pretty much have the gist of how this should go, but here are my questions...
1- Do I need or can I even mount a torque arm from trans to rear end using the Don Hardy trans mount?
2- I will be switching from the stock, to an adjustable panhard bar....what mount do i use for attaching the bar to the car?
3- Where exactly should the mount be welded to attach bar to the car...I think I have a clue here, but want to make sure.
4- I am considering the Lakewood shock and 92 z-28 rear springs......opinions?
5- What am I not thinking of here and what else do I need to consider?

gentleman, I appreciate and value your input, no matter what it is. Thank you in advance for your help!
Bill

PS- Tried to upload pics, but no luck. If you need to see pics, I can e-mail them to you...thanks
The Fleet:
1963 Chevrolet Impala-Miss Jean Marie
1973 Vega Hatchback
1995 Honda Civic
1965 Chevy C-10 Pickup
2004 F-350 Super Duty
BBM66

Re: Common sense help needed for non fabricator

Postby HAULIN' IT » Mon Jun 04, 2012 11:22 pm

BBM66 wrote:Greetings,