Help with seatbelt install in a 71 Vega

Tips, tricks, tools...

Moderator: Moderators

Help with seatbelt install in a 71 Vega

Postby JohnP » Sun Jan 14, 2007 9:27 pm

I picked up a set of seatbelts off eBay which said they were for a Vega/Monza. I needed shoulder straps so I can run the car at the track. I tried to install them today and the retactor with the belt the shoulder strap hooks to and seems like it would go on the outside of the seat will not fit. I'm using the stock mounting location and the retractor is in the way, the seat will not fit back in. Retractor will not let the seat get back far enough to go back into its mounting holes. Seems like the mounting hole for the seatbelt retractor needs to be like 4-5 inches farther back.

Could someone post a pic of the correct seatbelts for a early Vega? I'm thinking, what I got are for a Monza and really will not work in a Vega.

Thanks appriciate the help. I'm new to Vegas and the few shop books I have do not show seatbelts.
JohnP

Postby greg72 » Mon Jan 15, 2007 1:23 pm

i believe the early Vegas did not have the same one piece (shoulder and lap belt ) that the later year h-bodies had.

It seems to me they had a lap belt and then a separate shoulder belt that tucked up into clips in the headliner above the door when not in use.

I could be wrong and hopefully my post will jog some memories out there or perhaps someone still has this set up in a car , if i am indeed correct.
Greg
greg72

1972 Chevrolet Vega GT

Postby ColinOpseth » Tue Jan 16, 2007 12:23 am

My '72 uses the two-piece style. I have a lap belt and a secondary belt that is tucked into the aforesaid clip. Pardon my ugly mug. I took this pic at like 2am. Don't ask my why I was up that late lmao In the picture you can see the clip up on the right.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
ColinOpseth

1972 Chevrolet Vega GT

I'll need to get those clips for the shoulder straps.