Which Radiator?

Archives of GM H-Body Club

Moderator: Moderators

Which Radiator?

Postby h-bot » Wed Mar 13, 2002 3:01 pm

From: redmonza327_REMOVE_514915_THIS_@yahoo.com


Question: What radiators have some of you used
that are a "stock" fit? I currently have a 2-row stock
style V8 radiator that is in questionable condition
(fan hit it too many times) and I would like to
replace it. Right now my coolant temp is about 220, which
does not excite me too much (I think it should be in
the 180's right?) Are there other radiators (4-core?)
that fit the Monza? Late model Camaro?

Also, I
cant afford to shell out $700 on a Be-Cool AL
radiator. I want to keep it in the $200-$300
range...

-Paul O.


[This is message #34145 by user redmonza327 on Yahoo! Club GM HBODY: http://clubs.yahoo.com/clubs/gmhbody ]
h-bot
 
Posts: 53214
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 8:30 am
Location: cyberspace


Which Radiator?

Postby h-bot » Wed Mar 13, 2002 4:06 pm

From: Mookus911_REMOVE_156642_THIS_@yahoo.com


As silly as it may sound, My buddy and I got a
brand new radiator from 1-800-Radiato(r)..It's a
replacement for the stock V8 unit. My motor setup is a 383
Stroker, 180deg thermostat, an old nova 4 Blade non-clutch
fan, and the stock upper shroud. Stays around 180 all
the time now, highest was 200 after a whole lotta
tire smoking and running..If I remember right, the
radiator from them was around $190.00, maybe less..Hope it
helps!


[This is message #34150 by user Mookus911 on Yahoo! Club GM HBODY: http://clubs.yahoo.com/clubs/gmhbody ]
h-bot
 
Posts: 53214
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 8:30 am
Location: cyberspace

Which Radiator?

Postby h-bot » Wed Mar 13, 2002 4:27 pm

From: mimibuick_REMOVE_811310_THIS_@yahoo.com


I take it, it is going in a Factory V8
Monza?

I have a Factory V8 Monza with a factory 3 row Rad.
And my temp NEVER go's over 175-180.
I know
autozone has a 2 row for $205, and JC Whitney might have a
3 or 4 row but will cost at least another $100.

But the fan my car is hooked straight up to the water
pump. I have a 16inch and a 12 inch fan I plan on
installing, electric that is. 16 as pusher and 12 as back-up
puller, so I can free up some Power, and stay cool at the
same time.

But check you timing and carb. as
putting in a bigger rad. will not fix anything if you
have other problems, just mask them.


[This is message #34151 by user mimibuick on Yahoo! Club GM HBODY: http://clubs.yahoo.com/clubs/gmhbody ]
h-bot
 
Posts: 53214
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 8:30 am
Location: cyberspace

Which Radiator?

Postby h-bot » Wed Mar 13, 2002 4:32 pm

From: mimibuick_REMOVE_357939_THIS_@yahoo.com


Forgot to add, Carparts has a HeavyDuty A/C Delco Rad for $260.

Of course Carparts.com is part of JC Whitney now.


[This is message #34152 by user mimibuick on Yahoo! Club GM HBODY: http://clubs.yahoo.com/clubs/gmhbody ]
h-bot
 
Posts: 53214
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 8:30 am
Location: cyberspace

Which Radiator?

Postby h-bot » Wed Mar 13, 2002 7:33 pm

From: sbc77vega_REMOVE_144108_THIS_@yahoo.com


I just brought a 3 core V8 monza radiator to a shop today. For $350 he is putting in 4 cores and "cleaning up" the end tanks.

AJ


[This is message #34160 by user sbc77vega on Yahoo! Club GM HBODY: http://clubs.yahoo.com/clubs/gmhbody ]
h-bot
 
Posts: 53214
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 8:30 am
Location: cyberspace

Which Radiator?

Postby h-bot » Wed Mar 13, 2002 7:51 pm

From: CJBIAGI_REMOVE_939813_THIS_@yahoo.com


Paul, what kind of fan are you running that hit a
2 row radiator? There should be plenty of clearance
with a 2 row. I had my stock 2 row recored to a 3 row,
they used the same end tanks, and that was $150, but
that was many years ago. I'm sure it would be more
now. But check your clearance to see if you have room
for a thicker radiator. Clyde


[This is message #34164 by user CJBIAGI on Yahoo! Club GM HBODY: http://clubs.yahoo.com/clubs/gmhbody ]
h-bot
 
Posts: 53214
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 8:30 am
Location: cyberspace

Which Radiator?

Postby h-bot » Wed Mar 13, 2002 8:18 pm

From: pfjk36322_REMOVE_858878_THIS_@yahoo.com


I discovered that the rad out of my '72 Camaro
307(Canada car w/ PS,AT,non A/C, and manual disc brakes) was
exactly the same as the rad as in my '77
Monza(305,AT,A/C,PS,PDB).Both were 2-rows.
Frank


[This is message #34168 by user pfjk36322 on Yahoo! Club GM HBODY: http://clubs.yahoo.com/clubs/gmhbody ]
h-bot
 
Posts: 53214
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 8:30 am
Location: cyberspace

Which Radiator?

Postby h-bot » Wed Mar 13, 2002 10:27 pm

From: Phantom402_REMOVE_832672_THIS_@yahoo.com


Hey paul ,
Just go get a 3 row stock radiator
for a 75 or 76 buick skyhawk w/v-6 I cooled a 327
with one held together with a liquid patching compound
we used in radiator shop I worked in.It was a liquid
we mixed up and had under the dunk tank and if we
had a radiator that people just wanted patched and
afterwards it had pin holes in the tube to header connection
,we just pour this stuff in and preasureized it and
tadas it fixed then temporaraly.Weusedit a lot when
patch dirt burner car radiators and like that and ONLY
at customer request.
My last monza I had a friend
donate a curved neck v8 3 row radiator and i had no
cooling problems and never got over 220 with only one
electric fan.
good luck
Lee


[This is message #34180 by user Phantom402 on Yahoo! Club GM HBODY: http://clubs.yahoo.com/clubs/gmhbody ]
h-bot
 
Posts: 53214
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 8:30 am
Location: cyberspace

Which Radiator?

Postby h-bot » Wed Mar 13, 2002 10:35 pm

From: Phantom402_REMOVE_704332_THIS_@yahoo.com


i'd check that out a little closer as the stock 3
row tanks wont take a 4 row core and have looked thru
all of my core catalogs (i used to work for a
radiator shop and I get all the older catalogs)and never
found a core that even came close to fitting 3 row
tanks.Now someone may make a 4row but i have a 3 row and
there is no room for another set of tubes.
Lee


[This is message #34181 by user Phantom402 on Yahoo! Club GM HBODY: http://clubs.yahoo.com/clubs/gmhbody ]
h-bot
 
Posts: 53214
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 8:30 am
Location: cyberspace

Which Radiator?

Postby h-bot » Thu Mar 14, 2002 12:19 am

From: cliffhangeriii_REMOVE_680018_THIS_@yahoo.com


I have a 4 row core installed in my stock tanks, got it from Brittners radiator in Harmony PA. that was back in 1989 though.


[This is message #34189 by user cliffhangeriii on Yahoo! Club GM HBODY: http://clubs.yahoo.com/clubs/gmhbody ]
h-bot
 
Posts: 53214
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 8:30 am
Location: cyberspace

Which Radiator?

Postby h-bot » Thu Mar 14, 2002 4:52 am

From: voodoo_competition_REMOVE_721992_THIS_@yahoo.com


I had my local radiator shop install a 4 row core
in place of a stock Monza 3 row and it was a direct
fit. It had two big tanks as opposed to one big and
one small.

The 120 tube 4 row (13" X 21") in
my Vega uses a stock Vega Tank on the Passenger's
side and a shortened Cadillac Tank on the Driver's
side.

I am sure he does mail order. If anyone wants the
address, contact me at
Bigbadvoodoovega@aol.com

P.S. My 486 crashed and I lost everything. I am using
my lap-top now so I might not respond back for a day
or so...Robert


[This is message #34207 by user voodoo_competition on Yahoo! Club GM HBODY: http://clubs.yahoo.com/clubs/gmhbody ]
h-bot
 
Posts: 53214
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 8:30 am
Location: cyberspace

Which Radiator?

Postby h-bot » Thu Mar 14, 2002 9:12 am

From: redmonza327_REMOVE_676257_THIS_@yahoo.com


<< Paul, what kind of fan are you running
that hit a 2 row radiator? >>

Well that
is another issue I need to deal with. I have a cheap
electric 15" pusher that my brother installed when it was
his car. I plan on replacing it with a Perma-Cool
16"...

-Paul


[This is message #34217 by user redmonza327 on Yahoo! Club GM HBODY: http://clubs.yahoo.com/clubs/gmhbody ]
h-bot
 
Posts: 53214
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 8:30 am
Location: cyberspace

Which Radiator?

Postby h-bot » Thu Mar 14, 2002 9:16 am

From: b_daddyz_REMOVE_326631_THIS_@yahoo.com


I have a factory 3 core in mine with a flex-a-lite 17 inch fan and have 1 inch clearence.

Adam


[This is message #34218 by user b_daddyz on Yahoo! Club GM HBODY: http://clubs.yahoo.com/clubs/gmhbody ]
h-bot
 
Posts: 53214
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 8:30 am
Location: cyberspace

Which Radiator?

Postby h-bot » Thu Mar 14, 2002 10:23 am

From: ks_skyhawk_REMOVE_165868_THIS_@yahoo.com


Paul,

I have a 4 core unit that is only
one year old.
I sent a 2 core unit to a local
adiator shop to
have a 3 core installed. The guy got
in touch w/ my wife and said " a 4 core is only
$20.00 more"
and she said "go ahead". The only
problem: the
Buick V-8 in my Skyhawk is longer than a
SBC.
When I put the 4 core in, I found I had to redo
everything to make it work. And, no room for a real shroud
of any kind. I would like to sell the
4 core
unit for $125.00, and get a 3 core. Then all my
previous planning and parts already cut to fit, will bolt
in. Besides, I live in Leavenworth, and no
shipping.

KS_Skyhawk


[This is message #34221 by user ks_skyhawk on Yahoo! Club GM HBODY: http://clubs.yahoo.com/clubs/gmhbody ]
h-bot
 
Posts: 53214
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 8:30 am
Location: cyberspace

Which Radiator?

Postby h-bot » Thu Mar 14, 2002 10:38 am

From: Bacchus_101573_REMOVE_773887_THIS_@yahoo.com


Robert, what would one of those radiators cost? I
have 2 3-core Monza radiators and a 4-core Monza
radiator, but the Monza radiator is slightly larger than
the Vega and will require some cutting that I'd
prefer not to do. If the price is right, I could
probably sell all my Monza radiators and buy a 4-core from
this guy.

Actually, I thought for some reason
you went with a 5-core?


[This is message #34224 by user Bacchus_101573 on Yahoo! Club GM HBODY: http://clubs.yahoo.com/clubs/gmhbody ]
h-bot
 
Posts: 53214
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 8:30 am
Location: cyberspace

Next

Return to GM H-Body

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot] and 2 guests