12 Bolt Rear End Question

Moderator: Moderators

12 Bolt Rear End Question

Postby Malcolm7 » Wed Aug 28, 2013 10:35 pm

I am new to Monza restoration, but owned an original 1978 back in the day.

Recently I purchased a rust free 1980 Monza 2+2 which which the last owner started to convert into a drag race car.

It has a 12 bolt rear end installed - which is the source of my questions.

The width measurement flange to flange (without brake rotors) is 60 inches - far wider than the stock Monza rear end. Each side appears to have two 1 inch spacers behind the flanges. The front end has a 5 lug conversion - which looks to be near to the standard width.

1. Will this rear end width make handling (cornering) difficult?

2. Is there a practical way to reduce the rear width, or is it better to swap the 12 bolt out for a narrower and smaller axle?

3. Are there other options?

I do not intend to turn this car into a mega HP monster. 300HP max is all that I am interested in.

Any useful input will be much appreciated.
Malcolm7

Re: 12 Bolt Rear End Question

Postby Smiley » Thu Aug 29, 2013 12:19 am

the "spacers" are probably C clip eliminators.
does it have ladder bars ?
you could use deep backspace wheels or have the 12 bolt narrowed to use the wheels you choose.
Late Corvette and Camaro wheels may work, Weld wheels have a good selection of backspacing options.
Pics would help.
Smiley

Postby dadhad1 » Thu Aug 29, 2013 8:48 am

Do you have std C clips or bolt in axles?
I'd say, if the rearend is good (right ratio for you, not leaking, not whining), change the oil and stay with it.
A 12 bolt is a strong strong street rearend, especially for 300 hp.
You can likely get the wheel offset needed to get the tires where you want them.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
'What is it? A Maverick? No. A Pinto? No. Looks like a mini Camaro. A Camaro? No. A Chevette? HAHA, No. It's a Vega. Ahhhhh, cool man.'